The faculty at the moment has only one Department, namely the Department of Chemistry. Apart from teaching, research is a very significant part of the academic activities of this Institute. For effective exploitation of the experience, skills, technical know-how of the teaching staff and to impart training to the students, the following fields of specialization have been developed: Physical Chemistry, Inorganic Chemistry, Organic Chemistry, Analytical Chemical, Biochemistry and Applied Chemistry. Currently, the Department of chemistry offers the following programs M.Phil. (2 Years), M.Sc. (2 Years) and BS. Hons. (4 years).